Scanley vs Otterly

OtterlyAI is self-serve AI search monitoring from $29 a month, with Claude, Gemini and AI Mode as add-ons. Scanley is a managed AEO program for credit unions and community banks that drafts fixes for compliance sign-off.

Facts about Otterly checked on October 12, 2026 from Otterly's public website, with each one linked in the table. Scanley wrote this page and competes with Otterly. We have tried to be fair and to link every fact about Otterly to Otterly's own site. Products change, so check Otterly's site for the latest.

The short answer

Choose Otterly if

  • You want a low monthly cost: Lite is $29 a month.
  • You want self-serve daily tracking.
  • You want a Looker Studio connector, an API or MCP access, or an agency program.

Choose Scanley if

  • You want each fix drafted for you and routed through a named approver, not a tracker your team acts on.
  • You want Claude and Gemini measured in the program, not as add-ons.
  • You want questions written for your metro and products, for a financial institution.

At a glance

Scanley vs Otterly, facts checked October 12, 2026
 ScanleyOtterly
What it isA managed AEO program: Scanley measures, explains each gap, and drafts the fix for your approvalA content intelligence platform for AI search: prompt research, AI search analytics, content audit and GEO optimizationsource
Built forFinancial institutions: credit unions, community banks, lenders and fintech platformsMarketing teams, SMEs and agenciessource
Financial-institution specific?Yes: built for financial institutionsCross-industrysource
AI engines namedProgram: ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Google AI Overviews and CopilotBase: ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot. Paid add-ons: Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini.source
How often questions are re-askedA monthly scan in the program; every question asked twice per engineDaily trackingsource
Recommended and mentioned reported separatelyYes. Map listings are counted separately, and an engine not measured is marked not run, never a missNot stated on Otterly's site (checked October 12, 2026)site
Local or metro measurementA locked 21-question set for your metro or product categoryNot stated on Otterly's site (checked October 12, 2026)site
Who drafts fixesScanley drafts each fix as a review documentNot stated on Otterly's site (checked October 12, 2026)site
Compliance approval workflowFixes are drafts until a named person at your institution approves them; the record keeps who approved what, whenNot stated on Otterly's site (checked October 12, 2026)site
Method publishedPublished, and printed on every reportNot stated on Otterly's site (checked October 12, 2026)site
Access needed to your systemsNone to measure. Public web only: no member data, no system access, no credentialsNot stated on Otterly's site (checked October 12, 2026)site
Published pricingNot published. Scope and monthly cost are set in writing after the free scanLite $29, Standard $189, Premium $489 per month (15% off billed annually); custom plans from 1,000 promptssource
Free starting pointA free AI scan, delivered in two business daysA free trialsource
Security attestations statedNot statedNot stated on Otterly's site (checked October 12, 2026)site
Add-on enginesNone. Every engine Scanley measures is in the program.Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini are paid add-ons (Claude: $29, $109 or $439 a month by plan)source
Best fitA credit union or community bank that wants measurement, drafted fixes and the approval record handled as one managed program.A small team that wants low-cost, self-serve daily tracking with integrations.

Who drafts the fixes, and how compliance signs off

Scanley drafts each fix as a review document. Fixes are drafts until a named person at your institution approves them; the record keeps who approved what, when. Your institution publishes through its own process.

Otterly: its site does not describe who drafts the fixes. Its site does not describe an approval workflow; ask Otterly how drafted content reaches your compliance reviewer.

Pricing

Otterly: Lite $29, Standard $189, Premium $489 per month (15% off billed annually); custom plans from 1,000 promptssource

Scanley: the free AI scan costs nothing. A managed program is scoped to your products, markets and engines, and the monthly cost is set in writing after the scan. How Scanley pricing works.

Where Otterly is the better choice

  • You want a low monthly cost: Lite is $29 a month.source
  • You want self-serve daily tracking.source
  • You want a Looker Studio connector, an API or MCP access, or an agency program.source

Where Scanley is the better choice

  • You want each fix drafted for you and routed through a named approver, not a tracker your team acts on.
  • You want Claude and Gemini measured in the program, not as add-ons.
  • You want questions written for your metro and products, for a financial institution.

How every Scanley number is produced is public: how Scanley measures AI visibility. For compliance teams: AI answers as a compliance surface.

Questions buyers ask

Which AI engines do Scanley and Otterly measure?

Scanley's program measures ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Google AI Overviews and Copilot. Otterly: Base: ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot. Paid add-ons: Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini..

What does Otterly's base plan cover?

ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot, per its pricing page. Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini are paid add-ons.

More comparisons

Sources and method

This comparison was written by Scanley, which competes with Otterly. Spot an error? Email hello@meetscanley.com with the fact and a public source; how we compare and correct. Product names are trademarks of their owners; no affiliation is implied.

Run your free AI scan
Free, delivered in two business days.