Scanley vs Toren
Toren is AI visibility software with published pricing: Toren Local starts at $299 per location per month, with custom pricing for multi-branch institutions. Scanley is a managed program that measures your metro's AI answers and drafts fixes for compliance sign-off.
Facts about Toren checked on October 12, 2026 from Toren's public website, with each one linked in the table. Scanley wrote this page and competes with Toren. We have tried to be fair and to link every fact about Toren to Toren's own site. Products change, so check Toren's site for the latest.
The short answer
Choose Toren if
- You want published, per-location software pricing.
- You need visibility sliced by city, branch area, product and customer intent.
- You need an enterprise tier across multiple brands or business units.
Choose Scanley if
- You want measurement, diagnosis, the drafted fix and the approval record handled for you.
- You want recommended and merely mentioned reported separately, with the engine, date and run count on every number.
- You want the engines measured named on every report.
At a glance
| Scanley | Toren | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | A managed AEO program: Scanley measures, explains each gap, and drafts the fix for your approval | AI visibility and market-intelligence software in three tiers: Toren Local, Toren Competitive and Toren Enterprisesource |
| Built for | Financial institutions: credit unions, community banks, lenders and fintech platforms | Local and service-area businesses, including banks and credit unions; brands; enterprisessource |
| Financial-institution specific? | Yes: built for financial institutions | Has a banks and credit unions industry pagesource |
| AI engines named | Program: ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Google AI Overviews and Copilot | Engines are not named; Toren describes "coverage across major AI systems"source |
| How often questions are re-asked | A monthly scan in the program; every question asked twice per engine | Not stated on Toren's site (checked October 12, 2026)site |
| Recommended and mentioned reported separately | Yes. Map listings are counted separately, and an engine not measured is marked not run, never a miss | Not stated on Toren's site (checked October 12, 2026)site |
| Local or metro measurement | A locked 21-question set for your metro or product category | Tracks "by city, region, and service area", and by "branch area, product, and customer intent"source |
| Who drafts fixes | Scanley drafts each fix as a review document | Toren Local includes an "Opportunity Engine" and competitor monitoringsource |
| Compliance approval workflow | Fixes are drafts until a named person at your institution approves them; the record keeps who approved what, when | Not stated on Toren's site (checked October 12, 2026)site |
| Method published | Published, and printed on every report | Not stated on Toren's site (checked October 12, 2026)site |
| Access needed to your systems | None to measure. Public web only: no member data, no system access, no credentials | Not stated on Toren's site (checked October 12, 2026)site |
| Published pricing | Not published. Scope and monthly cost are set in writing after the free scan | Toren Local: $299 per location per month. Toren Competitive: $499 per month. Toren Enterprise: $5,000 to $95,000+ per month. Custom pricing for multi-location businesses.source |
| Free starting point | A free AI scan, delivered in two business days | A demosource |
| Security attestations stated | Not stated | Not stated on Toren's site (checked October 12, 2026)site |
| Pricing unit | One program, scoped in writing after the free scan. | Per location for Toren Local; $499 per month for Toren Competitive; $5,000 to $95,000+ per month for Toren Enterprisesource |
| Best fit | A credit union or community bank that wants measurement, drafted fixes and the approval record handled as one managed program. | A team that wants software it runs itself, with published per-location pricing and branch-level slicing. |
Who drafts the fixes, and how compliance signs off
Scanley drafts each fix as a review document. Fixes are drafts until a named person at your institution approves them; the record keeps who approved what, when. Your institution publishes through its own process.
Toren: Toren Local includes an "Opportunity Engine" and competitor monitoringsource Its site does not describe an approval workflow; ask Toren how drafted content reaches your compliance reviewer.
Pricing
Toren: Toren Local: $299 per location per month. Toren Competitive: $499 per month. Toren Enterprise: $5,000 to $95,000+ per month. Custom pricing for multi-location businesses.source
Scanley: the free AI scan costs nothing. A managed program is scoped to your products, markets and engines, and the monthly cost is set in writing after the scan. How Scanley pricing works.
Where Toren is the better choice
Where Scanley is the better choice
- You want measurement, diagnosis, the drafted fix and the approval record handled for you.
- You want recommended and merely mentioned reported separately, with the engine, date and run count on every number.
- You want the engines measured named on every report.
How every Scanley number is produced is public: how Scanley measures AI visibility. For compliance teams: AI answers as a compliance surface.
Questions buyers ask
Which AI engines do Scanley and Toren measure?
Scanley's program measures ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Google AI Overviews and Copilot. Toren: Engines are not named; Toren describes "coverage across major AI systems".
How much does Toren cost for a credit union with ten branches?
Toren publishes $299 per location per month for Toren Local, says Local is built for single-location businesses, and offers custom pricing to multi-branch institutions. Ask Toren for a quote; the per-location figure does not multiply out to a multi-branch price.
Which AI engines does Toren track?
Toren's pricing page describes "coverage across major AI systems" without naming them. Ask Toren which engines a plan includes.
Does Toren write the fixes?
Toren Local includes an "Opportunity Engine" and competitor monitoring. Its site does not describe drafted content routed for approval; ask Toren how its recommendations become published pages.
More comparisons
Sources and method
- https://torenindex.com/pricing/ checked October 12, 2026
- https://torenindex.com/industries/banks-credit-unions/ checked October 12, 2026
- https://torenindex.com/ checked October 12, 2026
This comparison was written by Scanley, which competes with Toren. Spot an error? Email hello@meetscanley.com with the fact and a public source; how we compare and correct. Product names are trademarks of their owners; no affiliation is implied.